Album Review: Goo Goo Dolls – Magnetic

Released on June 11th, Goo Goo Dolls’ 10th album Magnetic leaves you feeling happy after one listen. There are a lot of upbeat tracks with optimistic messages throughout the album.


If you want to pick a song to dedicate to a loved one, you have a variety to choose from. “Rebel Beat” kicks off the album with a feel-good love song. “Come To Me” makes you want to run into the arms of lead singer Johnny Rzeznik. “Caught in the Storm” and “More of You” are both pleasant and romantic.


The lyrics to the songs are so relatable to everyday life. “When the World Breaks Your Heart” is comforting and soothing, and just right for listening to after a rough day. When I heard “Slow It Down”, I could just imagine listening to it while road-tripping in a car with all the windows down.


There are two tracks sung by the bassist Robby Takac which are different from the other songs. It’s nice to have some contrast from the other tracks but they seemed slightly out of character with the rest of the album. Maybe I’m not just that used to hearing his voice since Rzeznik became the lead singer.


Although this album is good, it leaves a little more to be wanted. Even after 15 years, Dizzy Up the Girl still seems to be the most talked about album by the Goo Goo Dolls. It was so good that any follow up album has to be phenomenal to beat its success. Magnetic wasn’t quite there but it’s still a good product. The Goo Goo Dolls have what it takes to keep producing high-quality music.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.