Oscar Soundtracks: Her

If any Oscarnominated film’s score is worth a second listen, it’s definitely the score for Spike Jonze‘s Her. This haunting, beautiful, and critical background to the film features music composed by Owen Pallet and Win Butler of Arcade Fire, performed by Arcade Fire. The film itself is a feat, but without the stirring tones of this particular score, it could have lost a great portion of its depth. The score conjures such images, even without the film, that it seems the two were written side by side. It sonically combines the major elements of the film: human love and robotic precision. The score wanders, a stunning and lamenting piano stream of consciousness, but plays alongside harder hitting but equally subtle beats to match.

One track, “Morning Talk/Supersymmetry”, may sound familiar to Arcade Fire fans. “Supersymmetry” was originally written for Her but was released on the band’s fall album ReflektorThe worth of this score is so great it seems Arcade Fire was loathe to let it go. It truly is an effecting, disturbing, and gorgeous score in its own right, but alongside the film, it captures and creates such a vivid feeling.

The score was posted online for a time but has since been removed. There is no official release date for the score or the official soundtrack for Her, but best guess is after the Oscars! Listen below on YouTube.

1. Sleepwalker
2. Milk & Honey
3. Loneliness #3 (Night Talking)
4. Divorce Papers
5. Morning Talk/Supersymmetry
6. Some Other Place
7. Song On The Beach
8. Loneliness #4 (Other People’s Letters)
9. Owl
10. Photograph
11. Milk & Honey (Alan Watts & 641)
12. We’re All Leaving
13. Dimensions

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Your Guide to Oscar Nominated Music - Rock On Philly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.